Reverend Chu Yiu-ming: A Brave Bell Toller, Waking Up Hong Kong’s Sleepy Souls

Reverend Jyu Yiu-ming_10 APR 2019

作為一個終生為上主所用,矢志與弱勢者和窮苦人同行,祈求彰顯上主公義,實踐天國在人間,傳頌愛與和平福音的牧師,垂老之年,滿頭白髮,站在法庭被告欄,以待罪之身作最後的陳辭,看似極其荒謬和諷刺,甚至被視為神職人員的羞辱!
I am a Christian minister committed to the service of God. I have resolved to live a life of friendship with the weak and the poor, praying that God’s justice be manifested on earth as it is in heaven, and that the gospel of love and peace be proclaimed among the people. But today, old and grey, I find myself in the Defendant’s dock, making a final plea as a convict. It looks so absurd, if not outright shameful for a person holding holy office.

然而,此時此刻,在我心中,在法庭的被告欄,是一生牧職最崇高的講壇,死蔭的幽谷成就了靈性的高峯。
And yet, at this very moment, my heart tells me that with this defendant’s dock, I have found the most honourable pulpit of my ministerial career. The valley of the shadow of death leads to spiritual heights.

幾十年來,講道無數,想不到最費時、最用心、受眾最多的講道,正是在被告欄的陳辭,這裏有我童年的故事、牧區的故事、香港的故事、民主的故事、最後一里的故事、雨傘運動的故事、人間和天國的故事。
For decades, I have preached numerous sermons. Little could I anticipate that the one message which preparation took me the longest time and the most heartfelt prayer, and which probably would reach the largest audience, is precisely this one delivered from the defendant’s dock. In this message I tell the story of my childhood, of the Umbrella Movement, a story of heaven and earth.

古時的猶太人,期待救贖主來臨的日子,那裏再沒有痛苦和眼淚,但基督道成肉身,住在人間,經歷人世的艱辛,詮釋了救贖主的真義:「那裏有痛苦和眼淚,那裏就有救贖主!」
In days of old, Jewish people longed for the coming of the Redeemer when there would be no more pain and tears. Then Christ, Incarnate, took on human flesh and lived among us, sharing in our suffering and pain. And the world has since learned that “where there is suffering and tears, there is the Redeemer.”

在乖謬的時代,在專權的國度,在扭曲的社會,我甘願成為一個勇敢的敲鐘者,喚醒人間昏睡的靈魂。
Ours is an age of absurdity. Living in a society on the brink of authoritarianism and of arbitrary rule, let me be a brave bell toller, ringing, waking up sleepy souls.

Leave a comment